Mortuous is a Death Metal band from San Jose, California that features current and former members of Necrot, Exhumed, Scolex, and Vile Rites. The project was formed in 2009 by Colin Tarvin in the hope of creating a new band in the vein of Incantation, Autopsy, and Viogression. Later that year he released the first Demo, “Mors Immortalis”, on Skeleton Plague Records which received praise and recognition throughout the underground Death Metal community. By 2010, Mortuous had a full lineup which included Col Jones and Mike Beams, previously of Exhumed, Al Tarvin-Kibler, and Nick Scarboro. After a few lineup changes, Mortuous went into Earhammer Studio with Greg Wilkinson in 2016 to record their first Full-Length album entitled, “Through Wilderness”. The record was released in June 2018 through Carbonized Records, Tankcrimes Records, Dawnbreed Records, and Extremely Rotten Productions. Between 2018 and 2020, Mortuous would release two split 7” records and a Demo Compilation CD, as well as make numerous National and International Festival appearances at Eternal Warfare, California Deathfest, Kill-Town Death Fest VII, Decibel Metal and Beer Fest, and Total Death Over Mexico III. In December 2021, Mortuous recorded their second full-length album, “Upon Desolation”, which was released in September 2022 by Carbonized Records in the United States and Extremely Rotten Productions in Europe. The album placed on numerous Year-End Lists, including #10 on Decibel’s Top 40 Albums of 2022